Albums of April: Part 5 of 30

Posted: April 6, 2014 in General
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

A poor day music wise for myself. Saturdays in the pub trade can be reasonably busy, and even though we run a country pub, we get our fair share of people. Today I’ve only managed three records, which has been the worst so far, but luckily they were all crackers:

Wintersun – Wintersun

Necrophobic – Hrimthursum

Grave Miasma – Exalted Emanations

Wintersun’s debut record is probably one of the finest melodic death metal records ever written. It exemplifies how good melodeath can be, and also adds so much symphony and classical arrangements into the riffs. It truly is a masterpiece. Necrophobic are becoming a bit of a favourite at the moment; I loaded all their records onto my iPhone for listening randomly about the pub, and I’ve become rather fond of them. Yet more nasty Swedish death metal but sometimes you cannot have too much. Finally, the newest band on my list is Grave Miasma, a band I only recently found out through a great write up of their new record ‘Odori Sepulcrum’ in Terrorizer. I’m digging their ‘Exalted Emanations’ EP so will definitely be on the look out for adding that to my collection. It’s putrid, crawling death metal at its finest.

 

Leave a Reply

