How fucking good is Bandcamp?

Posted: March 5, 2014 in General, Lost in Time
Tags:

Bandcamp is a pretty cool piece of technologcal advancement. It is like Myspace could have become, if Myspace hadn’t been weighed down and drowned by an enormity of medocrity. Remember when ‘Myspace bands’ was a thing? Anyone with a microphone and a guitar could become an ‘artist’, without allowing for quality control. Bandcamp allows the same thing, but it also allows people to show their appreciation to artists with the ‘name your price’ button.

For me, I try and listen to as much as I can through bands on Bandcamp, and I’ll be honest, I will download for nothing if I can. Not because I don’t want to support the artist, but for two reasons: I much prefer physical releases (CDs etc) to mp3s and, well, I’m a broke small business owner so I have to prioritise my purchases. Therefore, I take advantage of freebies when I can. But it’s not that I don’t appreciate these bands or their music. I have an Excel file of all the records I want to buy. Updating it this afternoon I found I was past 3200 on it. I have also found some incredible releases on Bandcamp and have found new favourite bands (step forward Crypt Lurker).

I also like how Bandcamp allows artists who aren’t signed to a label to sell their own records/merch etc to fund recordings. That’s good, because selling stuff at shows can only go so far. If a small band supports on a few dates in their homeland, they may sell a few CDs or shirts but is not really significant. With an online presence, bands can sell shirts or records all over the world to fans in every corner. Metal reaches every part of the world, so an English black metal band could sell their music to people in Indonesia or Brazil. It’s a wonderful thing.

Leave a Reply

