20 albums that shaped my musical taste: Part 1 – The Early Years

Posted: December 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

My friend Paul inspired me to write this. That’s right Paul, you finally get official fucking credit on a post. It’s not before time really but hey, this is my blog, he just likes it! Paul suggested the 20 records that shaped my musical tastes. He likes to challenge me. 20 is a tough number, as I believe I can list about 736 or 5, so this might be a challenge, but here goes…:

1. Dire Straits – Brothers in Arms: For years when I was a kid, my dad had this on tape in the car and I loved ‘Walk of Life’. In fact, for years I forgot who it was that sang it, all I could remember was the synth line. Probably my first introduction to rock and roll, and its still a tune today. It took me a long time to even hear the rest of the record, but it’s a rock classic.

2. The Offspring – Americana: When I was a youngling, I liked pop punk. Spoiler alert, I also liked Linkin Park and Limp Bizkit. Much abuse has been thrown in my direction for this but fuck you, I didn’t know any better at the time. The Offspring were my favourite band for a while, they felt more serious than folk like Blink 182 and Sum41. Plus I think I was the guy from the Pretty Fly video for a while. Sad times. Still, ‘Americana’ is a record that has stuck with me through the years, more so as a guilty pleasure. But at the time, this was a top 5 album for me.

3. Metallica – The Black Album: Who didn’t own this record? I love The Black Album, even to this day when I rarely listen to it. ‘Enter Sandman’ and ‘Sad But True’ will always be good. But for me, the latter half contained the stronger material. ‘The God That Failed’, ‘Of Wolf and Man’ and particularly ‘My Friend of Misery’

4. Iron Maiden – Powerslave: When I first got into Maiden, it was through stuff like ‘Run to the Hills’ and ‘The Trooper’. But it was ‘Powerslave’ that truly captured my imagination. ‘2 Minutes to Midnight’ remains my favourite Maiden track, closely followed by ‘Powerslave’ itself. For some, ‘Seventh Son’ was the pinnacle of Iron Maiden; for me it’ll always be this.

5. Korn – Issues: Now this defined ‘heavy’ for me in the early 00s. ‘Somebody Someone’ still has one of the heaviest riffs ever written, and this was the song that led to me searching out the dark, more brutal side of metal. As unlikely as it seems, this remains one of my essential records. Yeah, they may have invented nu-metal, but they were always much heavier than any of the others, and that’s what I liked the most.

Comments
  1. […] 20 albums that shaped my musical taste: Part 1 – The Early Years (thoseonceloyal.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

