Its End of Year List Making Time

Posted: December 1, 2013 in General

I suck at this. I really do. I listen to so much music that when I go back to have a think about the music that has been totally brilliant and inspiring to make a top ten, I’m lost. What did that one sound like? Was that as good as I thought? What is my favourite record of the year? And then I’m back to square one…

But this year, I’ve decided against a top ten in order, in favour of ten records you need to hear from 2013. There’s been a few. I intend to go into depth with reviews of them throughout December (one I’ve already done in fact) but I’ll list them here just now:

In Solitude – Sister

Watain – The Wild Hunt

Carcass – Surgical Steel

Gorguts – Colored Sands

Sodom – Epitome of Torture

Ihsahn – Das Seelenbrechen

Autopsy – The Headless Ritual

Chthonic – Bu-Tik

Fleshgod Apocalypse – Labyrinth

Boris – Praparat

I’ll go into more details on each of these in due course, but if you only hear ten records of 2013, in my opinion it should be these. There have many other fantastic records this year, and I know I’ll kick myself for excluding some of them but there you go. I also plan on sharing my favourite discoveries (and rediscoveries) of the year, and some more thoughts about what 2014 might bring us.

Leave a Reply

