Is It Messed Up to Rediscover Your Own Work?

Posted: November 27, 2013 in General
Tags: , ,

I’ve been reading back through my old blog tonight, feeling reasonably embarassed at my work from five years ago when i originally started this hobby of mine. My use of paragraphs was poor, the hyperbole I used while reviewing some records was daft (not all but there was definitely some artistic licence used), and I tried to start debates with all the people (read: nobody) that actually read my blog. Sigh.

BUT, and here is the key point I have found. BUT I have found that I used to listen to some fucking awesome records that I haven’t listened to in years. I’ve reviewed records that I can honestly say I probably haven’t listened to since I reviewed it. February 2008 I wrote about 4 unsung death metal records I really enjoyed. One of them was Grave’s debut. Fucking GRAVE! One of Swedish Death Metal’s big four, and yet here was me writing about how their debut (essential) was unsung. What a dick. I’ve come a a long way…

Now to the main reason for this overly long moment of self pity and realisation. As I said in a previous post, I will be reposting some of my old reviews on here, but will now add in new thoughts to make them seem more contemporary. Hopefully I will then make them more relevant to my new readership. Since, thanks to WordPress site stats, I can at least see there is some. 157 views motherfucker, I’ll bet my first blog didn’t even get close to that.

Coming soon: Textures – Silhouettes, Deicide – Until Death Do Us Part and Esoteric – The Maniacal Vale

Leave a Reply

