Shit what I found on the Facebook II: Scree, widdle, slam!

Posted: November 12, 2013 in ALERT: Awesome new music
Tags: , , , , , ,

This week, I have been mostly enjoying the newest breed of deathcore/slam-death metal that seems to be leaking all over the place. I have a bit of a soft spot for this style if I’m honest. Yeah yeah, none of it is particularly original, or even impressive but by Lucifer it is fucking heavy. Amd sometimes that is all you need. Moving on!

First off we have Those Who Fear and their new track, ‘Burn’. It’s a fair approximation of deathcore; full of chugging riffs and slamming breakdowns but lacking anything special to lift it above simply decent. Still worth a headbang at least once though. Watch it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXhgHhSxtzk&app=desktop

Next we have Vale of Pnath. Although not technical deathcore/slam (they’re much more widdly tech death merchants), I thought I’d include them simply because they SLAY! It’s difficult to make technical death that’s catchy but these Rocky Mountain movers pull it off. Its a grower too, my first impression was less enthusiastic (I believe I wrote in my notebook that it was nothing to go out of the way for), but its definitely getting better with each listen. Watch fingers bleed here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zEoAP7Qpg4

Final track this evening is Osiah and Perennial Agony. Now this is heavy. Seriously heavy. Like tectonic plates smashing into each other heavy. This is the reason I like some deathcore. Huge breakdowns reinforce what’s great about brutal music, and although there is nothing revolutionary about it, it ticks all the right boxes in the riff categories for me. It’s not for everyone, but I’ll admit to being converted. Crush your ears here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ueviEq5nmWA&feature=youtu.be&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DueviEq5nmWA%26feature%3Dyoutu.be&app=desktop

Leave a Reply

